Musing from the Board

A message from Ted Kloosterman, President of the Board 2014-2015

A year ago I was asked if I had any interest to take on the position of President of the congregation. This community, with its beautiful buildings and gardens, has a deep meaning for me and yes, becoming an active member has its rewards. So when the time came to make the decision it was easy. My motto is when you work hard, one will succeed and reap the benefits.

UCM is a busy place! Founders Hall was rented out for the summer to a Bricks 4 Kid® Lego® camp. And it seems people come from far and wide to spend time here. During July 24-26 we hosted the “Inter-Denominational Christian Fellowship of Canada” - two hundred participants from Canada and the USA prayed and fasted for 24 hours. A truly moving commitment from that community. We also hosted a one day seminar put on by the LGBT community, primarily for the healthcare providers in Mississauga. The information was eye-opening.

By the time you read this, we would have already had our first Board meeting of the new church year (Aug. 20th). There is a standing invitation for the members of the congregation to attend those meetings as an observer. Why not join us? They are held on the third Wednesday of every month, starting at 7:00 PM.

The Board welcomes you at our first service on September 7th.

May we have a year of spiritual growth for ourselves, our families and friends, for the congregation and for the community at large.

Ted Kloosterman


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors serves on behalf of the Congregation between the meetings of the Congregation.  It strives to set the direction and long-range planning of the congregation and to guide the regular operations of the Congregation.

Board members are elected at the Congregational Meeting in May of each year and serve a three year term and the Board meets monthly. The 2012-2013 Board members are:

Ted Kloosterman, President                

John Rowell, Vice President             

Mary Needham, Secretary                      

Geoff Cliffe-Phillips, Treasurer                    

Barbara Wood

Doug Rylett, Administrative Team Leader

Kathy Scott, Membership Team Leader

John Smith, Governance and Special Projects Coordinator

Candice Rice, Communications Team Leader



iconfacebook icontwitter3 iconwordpress iconyoutube
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Phone Number for Unitarian Congregation in Mississauga mapicon


minister's blog Unitarian Congregation in Mississauga - Welcome page | We're on facebook